Skip to Main Content

The Defense IT Flywheel Awards

Defense IT

The Flywheel Awards recognize the accomplishments made by federal employees and the programs that they work on that transform and innovate federal technology.

Awards Timeline

Entry Deadline Extended: November 24, 2023
Finalists Announced: December 1, 2023
Winners Announced: February 9, 2024 at the Defense IT Summit in Arlington, VA

Defense IT

The Defense IT Flywheel Award Categories

Why the Flywheel?

The flywheel — a critical component in a machine to increase its momentum — is also a critical symbol representing our goal to keep federal IT decision-makers informed on technology’s impact on government. This momentum is what fuels the constant need for transformers to innovate around the defense systems, infrastructure and tools that are keeping our nation safe.


  • The Flywheel Awards are open to the federal IT community (federal employees).
  • Entries that have won past Flywheel Awards are eligible for the current competition.
  • Submissions are limited to 500 words.
  • All achievements must be from January 2023 – present.

Submissions Should Include

  • The responsibilities that the nominee holds in the federal IT space
  • What aspects of their performance distinguish them as exceptional?
  • What was accomplished in 2023 that is award worthy?


  • These awards recognize individuals.
  • Individuals at all job levels are eligible.
  • When applicable, specify a particular project the individual excelled at over the past year.

Entries are judged by the GovCIO Media & Research Editorial Team.
If you have any questions, please contact our Events Coordinator, Teylor Phetkhamyath at [email protected].

Sponsorships available. Contact Jennifer Weiss at [email protected].

Awards Sponsor