Skip to Main Content

The Health IT Flywheel Awards

Health IT flywheel award winners

The Flywheel Awards recognize the accomplishments made by federal employees and the programs that they work on that transform and innovate federal technology.

Awards Timeline

Nominations Open: June 14, 2024
Nominations Deadline Extended: July 19, 2024
Finalists Announced: July 26, 2024
Winners Announced: September 19, 2024 at the Health IT Summit in Rockville, Maryland

Scan this QR code on your phone to nominate or click the Submit Nominations button below.

Submit Nominations
Health IT flywheel award winners

The Health IT Flywheel Awards Categories

Why the Flywheel?

The flywheel — a critical component in a machine to increase its momentum — is also a critical symbol representing our goal to keep federal IT decision-makers informed on technology’s impact on government. This momentum is what fuels the need for transformers to innovate the strategies, tools and partnerships that are making an impact in the field.


  • The Flywheel Awards are open to the federal IT community (federal employees).
  • Entries that have won past Flywheel Awards are eligible for the current competition.
  • Submissions are limited to 500 words.
  • All achievements must be from June 2023 – present.

Submissions Should Include

  • The responsibilities that the nominee holds in the federal IT space
  • What aspects of their performance distinguish them as exceptional?
  • What was accomplished in 2023/2024 that is award worthy?


  • These awards recognize individuals.
  • Individuals at all job levels are eligible.
  • When applicable, specify a particular project the individual excelled at over the past year.

Entries are judged by the GovCIO Media & Research Editorial Team.
If you have any questions, please contact our Events Coordinator, Teylor Phetkhamyath at [email protected].

Sponsorships available. Contact Jennifer Weiss at [email protected].